My Jesus Year

Jesus Year def“The 33rd year of your life. Time to get moving and get things done (maybe).” [courtesy urban dictionary]

11001923_1032435733437680_5651944359951648800_n

This is my Jesus Year. 

To clear things up, I don’t consider myself particularly religious. In fact, I’m not religious at all. I’m yet to have a set schedule for bed time. But there’s something about being 33 that is quite unlike being 16 or 21 or even 27. Suddenly I’m aware that I have the ability to make a difference, and that I owe it to myself and to the world to reach out and try. From where I stand, I can see that the wold would easily have us believe in our failings and our weaknesses before acknowledging our strengths. Today, I can say without a doubt that I am strong. The world would have us believe that everything around us is going up in flames and that we should remember always to be afraid- be afraid of ourselves, be afraid of our enemies, afraid of what we can see and what we cannot see. Today, I choose to live my life unafraid. Where once I was afraid of the sound of my own voice, and scared at the possibility of making waves, I’m now okay with the idea of poking holes in the status quo. I think if enough of us felt empowered to do the same, the world in which we live would be a much different place.

I’ll warn you now that some of the ideas I’ll post in the future are a bit weird (those of you who know me know already that I have a penchant for “weird”!), but I can assure you I’m not the only one thinking them up. I don’t consider myself a genius- I’m more than certain that if I’ve thought it, someone else has as well. More than anything, I’d love for Wine Out Of Water to become a place where people can feel free to voice their ideologies, so long as the end goal is edifying and elucidating the soul.

And so, in my Jesus year, I am brought back to that very first miracle where Jesus turns water into wine. Imagine that- something as ordinary and plain as water was turned into the featured beverage of the night. Again, I am not religious, but I find the beauty here in the symbolism of this moment. We too possess the power to turn the ordinary places in our lives into places of extraordinary blessing for others. We are all miracle workers.

Let’s make miracles.

Leave a Reply

