Dear Future Husband, I’m Not Afraid To Love You

395774_351519684870927_1703575558_n

I’m not afraid to love you.

I’m not afraid to throw my arms around your neck and get lost in your eyes

Or to close my eyes and bask in the warmth of your smile

I’m not afraid to wrap myself in your embrace

and feel our soul entwine

To let my heart keep time with yours

I want to marry you.

I don’t just want to get married. I want to marry you.

Not because of what you have or who I think you are,

or because I think marrying you will make my life

perfect.

I want to marry you because I know you

and I love you and

because I know life isn’t perfect

but the idea of spending the rest of my life with you makes me want

to keep going.

I want every piece of imperfection with you.

And I want to marry you in your backyard.

On a Wednesday,

in the afternoon.

I want it to be simple

and beautiful

and elegant.

I want to tell your family and our friends how much I love you and

how much you mean to me, and

for them to witness me telling you how much I love you, and

that I promise to love you until the end of time.

I want the sun to set on us kissing

and dancing

and my not having to go home in the morning.

I want to wake up the next day with your last name,

as part of you,

as part of your family.

And I want to look out into the yard

and remember where we stood when we took our vows.

I want to fill your heart and home with happiness

with you.

I want to marry you.

I’m not afraid

To hold your hand and let you lead me

To places I cannot go alone

To carry your voice on my tongue

Or hold your essence in my womb

Through gardens, along sea shores,

Nurseries and cemeteries

Forever no longer scares me.

I love you

Therefore

I am not afraid.

© Asa-Mari Thompson, 2015

One thought on “Dear Future Husband, I’m Not Afraid To Love You

  1. Pingback: Dear Future Husband, What Is Love? | WINE OUT OF WATER

Leave a Reply

